Ciro Santilli


  1. W3C
    1. Maturity levels of standards
    2. Versions
  3. IETF


WWW Consortium.

W3C specifies many of the key web standards including:

One important web standard that they do not specify is Javascript, which is specified by Ecma international

W3C has many important member organizations including companies, universities and others such as Microsoft, Apple, IBM, Google, Facebook, Twitter, Adobe.

Maturity levels of standards

W3C has several levels of endorsement for standards. They are described on the “Process” document:


Like any decent document, W3C standards are have versions, and it is possible to link either to a branch or specific version of the document.

The initial paragraph of the documents always contains links to:

Link to the one that makes most sense.


Specs group, split from W3C because they disagreed:

Started by Mozilla, Apple and Safari.

Claim to be more practical oriented.

W3C tries to keep in touch, e.g. HTML5 has on WHATWG editor.


Internet Engineering Task Force.

IETF standards are not covered here, since they are “lower level networking stuff”. See instead: This includes in particular HTTP.